Up and down

There’s a line in a Steve Martin film, that I half remember: “A good life is like a roller coaster, you just have to hang on through the ups and the downs.”

A delayed start to activities today as I waited for the icy pavements to thaw. I then headed off for a 5+ mile run over Gover Hill. I chose the route on the basis that I was less likely to have to wade through flood water, the higher I went. It proved an inspired choice, there was bright sunshine at the top and fantastic views of the fog lifting from the valley and from all the hollows where water had gathered.

After much prevaricating over the last few days, I made a decision on a new bike, placed the order with the good folks at Halfords and I will be able to pick it up later in the week. This will be a “winter trainer” and will probably spend most of its life on the Turbo & the Rollers.

A good day then descended with a bump.

We had to rush Oscar the Airedale to the emergency vets, where sadly he passed away. He was an old dog and it was his time and in the words of Forrest Gump “that’s all I have to say about that”.

One Response to Up and down

  1. emma says:

    Sorry to hear about your dog.

Leave a Reply

