Powered by sunshine

Today’s Juneathon effort started with my default 10K route. Even though I hit the road by 9:30, the weather was already hot. I had a good dollop of sun-screen on. I don’t often carry a drink for runs less than an hour, but I stuffed a gel into my shorts pocket as a just in case.

I’m not sure if the Garmin was suffering some form of electronic heat-stroke but the split for the 1st mile came up as sub-8 even though I felt that I was going fairly steady. Given this was my quickest mile for some time, I made a choice to go fairly hard to the mid-point and then to ease up. Unless I’m doing a specific intervals session I usually aim to run a consistent pace right through whatever distance I’m doing. But I was interested to know what sort of time I can realistically aim for over 5K.

The 3 mile split came up at just under 25 mins. I didn’t spot the time at exactly 3.1 but my best estimate is 25:30. One of the benchmarks I’ve set for my recovery is a sub-25 5K. If the Garmin is being truthful, I should be able to hit that target in the next couple of weeks.

In the afternoon I put in a 30 mile bike ride, this wasn’t at a training level of intensity, I was just enjoying soaking up some rays. Even so, I wax pleased to see this out at 17 mph. Quite a respectable pace for what was really a bit of a jolly. I treated myself to a white magnum ice cream as a fitting reward for the effort.

This great little video about advice from dads

From Lulu Lemon has been doing the rounds on Twitter. “Get Good Grades” . Love it!

Leave a Reply

